Margherita Pizza

Image

I’m alive! I’m alive! Yes, if you can believe it – I’m still cooking! I’ve been living with  my boyfriend Kyle this summer and we don’t have internet at his place (we’re cheap and we decided it would force us to read more). So, blogging and other internet things have gone downhill!

Summer has been going lovely, but I don’t understand how it’s already August. It’s gone too quickly! Although when Iook back, I do realize I’ve done a ton (see https://dirtanddesserts.wordpress.com/2013/06/23/summer-update/ for a reminder). This week was fairly relaxed, going out with friends, working, studying Spanish, and reading in free time. I went home recently and my mom gave me some fresh produce from her garden, which included tomatoes and basil. Inspired by the simplicity of fresh produce, Kyle and I made an easy pizza. (Plus – I had been missing Italy, so this was almost as good!)

“Margherita Pizza”

Ingredients 

  • store bought or homemade crust (we did store bought)
  • olive oil
  • fresh mozzarella cheese
  • fresh basil
  • one large tomato

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350.
  2. Spread olive oil on crust. Make a thin layer.
  3. Top with slices of tomato and slices of mozzarella cheese. How much you use is up to you. I however, think the more the better.
  4. Pop in oven for 10 minutes or until cheese is melted.
  5. Top with basil and enjoy!

Image

Image

It doesn’t get much easier than that, huh? Now I’m craving pizza again… maybe it’s about time I learn to make my own crust?

Summer is winding down, but I’m still looking forward to a lot! Kyle and I are headed to St. Louis for his cousin’s baby shower (not just a women only shower – which I like)! And we might go to the zoo if there’s time. Then one last week of research collection for me before we head to vacation at a lake house! Plus, I need to squeeze in as much time as possible with all the lovely people here…

Image

Image

Hope you all enjoy the last days of summer as well! Trying to prepare for the craziness this school year will be…

4 thoughts on “Margherita Pizza

Tell me what's on your mind!

