S’mores Cookies

I shouldn’t do blog posts when I’m hungry. I want to eat all the cookies. I’ve been gone for quite awhile from blogging because things have been crazy on my end! First of all – I finished up with finals and my first year of graduate school. It seemed nearly impossible at times and I questioned whether it was a mistake often, but I survived and overall, I’m happy. I have an overwhelming amount of work in front of me, but I’ve started, which is something.

Besides finishing up my first two semesters, I found out that I’ll be teaching all next year. HOORAH! FUNDING! No one (minus perhaps my parents) realize what a relief this is for me. I’ve been worrying about it a ton and filling out so many applications and I finally got a position that I think I’m going to be incredibly happy with! It’ll be tons of work, but I’m looking forward to the challenge. After finals and celebrating my new position, I headed out for a week with Kyle. It went crazy quick (like it always does), but I got to spend a lot of time with close friends which was a great destresser from school. I’m at home now for a friends wedding this weekend (first time as a bridesmaid!) before heading to Europe for a couple weekends! I’m starting to get excited, but it honestly hasn’t hit me that I’m going on vacation and not back to school! After that, it’s fieldwork then back to work! It seems like I have so much to do in such a short summer. However, I’m looking forward to cooking and baking in my free time and what says summer more than s’mores?!

These s’mores cookies were honestly a bit of a pain to make and I’m not 100% sure I’d try them again. They would have been easier, but I over-broiled the marshmallows on the first batch and had to scrape those off and start again! Definitely an annoyance, but everyone I served them to loved them! These are best fresh out of the oven, so I’d recommend making them for a group of friends at a party. Surprisingly, they kept well though – I served them to others in the next couple days and the marshmallows were still quite fluffy and gooey! Be adventurous and give them a try.

“S’mores Cookies”

Recipe originally from: http://www.marthastewart.com/336491/smores-cookies

Ingredients 

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • squares of hershey’s chocolate
  • marshmallows, cut in half

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In your food processor, pulse oats until finely ground. Add flours, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt to food processor and pulse to combine.
  2. In a bowl, beat together butter and sugar. Beat in egg and mix.
  3. Beat flour mixture into the buttery mixture. Eat some of the batter.
  4. Drop dough onto cookie sheets and top with a bit of chocolate. Bake just until golden, 11 to 13 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through. The website said to do this. I honestly have no idea why. Do it if you feel like it. Otherwise sit on the couch and watch Downton Abbey.
  5. Remove sheets from oven and heat the broiler. Top each cookie with half a marshmallow.
  6. One at a time, broil the sheets of cookies until the marshmallows are browned. This should only be about 1 to 1 1/2 minutes! This will go incredibly quickly or the marshmallows will burn and you will curse at the world.
  7. Eat those cookies up with a glass of milk!

Like I said, they can be a bit of a pain if you don’t watch the broiler, but they are pretty good. Plus, they’re a fun, unique cookie that most people definitely haven’t had! Give them a try and let me know if you do!

I’m looking forward to all my adventures – hope you’re all doing something interesting this summer as well. Before I go – photos of me and a best friend seeing each other for the first time in a couple weeks!

What can I say – we’re quite the models!

Tell me what's on your mind!

