Chicken Tamale Pie

Image

The semester is ending and I’ve got tons to do! I have a 20 page paper due on Thursday, but I’ve got 16 pages written, so I’m not too concerned. But it’s my big project this weekend – to finish writing and editing. That and working! I worked from 8-10 last night (not the most convenient time…) and I work from 4-9ish today! But besides all this work – I had a pretty wonderful morning. A couple friends and I went to the farmer’s market (the first one outside this year)! We arrived a bit late, so there wasn’t too much to purchase. However, this didn’t stop me from getting a succulent (sadly, one of my plants I’ve had for 4 years finally bit the dust and needs to be replaced) and a thing of homemade honey.

I also bought the most delicious kolache! This past week I got a $50 parking ticket (yuck), but in a somewhat-lucky fashion, my friend Jeff got one too. Following his advice, we went to the parking center and thankfully the tickets were cleared. Because I have more important things to spend my money on. Like alcohol. And socks. Anyway… back to food. To celebrate, Jeff suggested we go to this wonderful little bakery. I ordered the kolache and oh my goddddddd dead. dead. dead. dead. So freakin’ delicious! The bakery (Sweet Claires, for all you Bloomington folks) was at the farmer’s market and I got the same exact thing! It’s ridiculous how much food can make me happy. In case you were wondering, kolache is this savory bun with soy chorizo, goat cheese, and spinach inside. (Of course, there are other flavors too – I’m just addicted to this one.)

So, why am I blabbing on about kolache, but not providing a recipe for it? Because this is my blog and I can, damn it. But really, this is such a savory little pastry that it is quickly becoming one of my favorites. So, I thought I’d share another favorite. A close friend of mine (and past roommate), Kim T. first made this chicken tamale pie. It has become a kind of staple in the recipes I go through, something I make if I have people eating over – quick, easy, and everyone seems to like it (and request it multiple times after…)

I’m a lover of cornbread and this has just a hint of spice, so feel free to add more peppers if that’s what you favor. Either way, I hope you all enjoy this weekend as much as I am so far. But then again… I haven’t got to writing my paper yet… yikes.

“Chicken Tamale Pie”

Adapted from: http://pinchofyum.com/chicken-tamale-pie

Makes: 2 pies (or 1 mega- pie… up to you!)

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup milk (whatever you have will do)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons taco seasoning, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1 (14 3/4 ounce) can cream-style corn
  • 1 (8.5 ounce) box corn muffin mix
  • 1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chiles, drained
  • 1 (10 ounce) can red enchilada sauce (if you like lots of sauce – you may want to use 2 cans. Using only 1 makes little sauce, which I prefer)
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded, cooked chicken breast (or more!)
  • 1 cup shredded white cheese
  • cilantro for topping

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Combine the first 7 ingredients (milk through green chiles), using 1/2 tablespoon of the taco seasoning in a bowl.
  3. Pour mixture into 2 round pie plates, that have been previously sprayed with cooking spray.
  4. Bake at 400 degrees for 20-30 minutes (my oven takes around 25 minutes). When it’s done it will be hardly set and golden brown in coloring.
  5. While this is getting hot in the oven, toss the chicken in the remaining 1 1/2 tablespoon of taco seasoning.
  6. When cornbread is done, take out of oven and pierce many times with a fork. Get out all that aggression! No worries if it sticks to your fork – that’s common.
  7. Pour enchilada sauce all over the cornbread. This is where you might decide to use an extra can – again all up to what you prefer!
  8. Top with chicken and sprinkle with cheese, dividing between the two pies.
  9. Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes, letting the cheese get all melty and delicious. Top with fresh cilantro and serve to all your adoring friends and family.

Good news – while writing this I was switching back and forth between my paper. I have 17 pages done! I think I should probably reward myself with a pastry… don’t you?

I forgot to mention another ridiculously fun part of my week – I went to the Children’s Museum on Wednesday with my work. We were able to go back into their curation facilities and observe the fantastic work they’re doing on the Captain Kidd wreck site AND we were able to go into their back storage area where they hold all the extra artifacts. We saw a mummified, articulated dinosaur that had tendons and skin impressions. I’m not a paleontologist, but this was absolutely amazing!!! Finding an articulated specimen is extremely rare and to find one that well preserved… wow. We weren’t able to take photos, but they think they’ll have it on display next year. However I did get some fun pictures:

the beautiful glass sculpture they have throughout

the beautiful glass sculpture they have throughout the museum

this is actually a cast - they are a rare museum that puts the real artifacts out on display!

this is actually a cast – they are a rare museum that puts the real artifacts out on display!

It’s been such an adventure filled week. Now back to writing!

3 thoughts on “Chicken Tamale Pie

  1. Didn’t realize until I saw the photos that you were talking about the Indianapolis Children’s Museum — didn’t know if Bloomington had one. I just love that Chiluly sculpture but how neat to get to go behind the scenes…

Tell me what's on your mind!

