Buffalo Cauliflower Bites

Image

I was so excited when I saw this cauliflower in my vegetable bin. I had bought it for Kyle and I to eat over the weekend, but had completely forgot about it! On Monday when I opened up the fridge, wondering what I was going to eat this week I found my beautiful, lovely cauliflower! Who knew vegetables would one day make me so excited?

I had tried a recipe like this before and didn’t love it. There was too much breading and sauce. However, after playing around with it, I think I’ve found the perfect combination. As someone who loves wings, but tries to eat healthy, this stuff is delicious! Image

I had an amazing weekend with Kyle and my Aunt Kathy. I wasn’t able to go home for Easter (always a difficult thing), but Kyle came to visit and we drove up to Indy to spend the day with my Aunt. We went to a delicious Indian restaurant and then spent the day at the zoo. It felt amazing to be outside and focusing on something besides academics and applications. I’m always a bit sad after a fun weekend and cooking is the perfect cure to blues.

“Buffalo Cauliflower Bites”

Adapted from: http://www.skinnytaste.com/2013/01/spicy-buffalo-cauliflower-bites.html

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup white flour
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp dried garlic and herbs
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp Caribbean jerk seasoning
  • 1 head of cauliflower, cut into pieces
  • 1 cup hot sauce
  • 1 tbsp butter, melted

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray.
  2. Combine the first 6 ingredients in a bowl.
  3. Coat the pieces of cauliflower in the flour-water mixture and place on the cookie sheet. Cook for 20 minutes.
  4. Combine hot sauce and butter.
  5. Once the cauliflower is done baking, take out of the oven and cover with hot sauce mixture. Bake for 5 more minutes. Enjoy with ranch or celery sticks!

Yum. Delicious. Eat now! I will definitely be making these again.

Image

And with that, I’m going to bed. It’s 10 pm and I’m sleepy. I had a great day. I went to the Children’s Museum to explore their curation facilities. (My job is amazing!!) Before I go, a couple shots from the zoo:

Image

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “Buffalo Cauliflower Bites

Tell me what's on your mind!

