Oreo Cookies and Cream Puppy Chow

Do you know what’s good? Chocolate. Do you know what’s also good? Sugar. So let’s just put the two together and call it a day, shall we? I’ve completely mucked up my sleep schedule. I fell asleep at 8:30 (!!!) last night, woke up for an hour at 2, then slept until 6. So, what did I decide to do at 9 pm tonight? I decided it was the perfect time to start whipping together a sugary concoction. This makes a huge, delicious batch of puppy chow. However, I figured since I was visiting Kyle and his roommates this weekend, I’d bring it with me on the road and feed the leftovers to them. Because no one appreciates homemade food like college students. This is quick, easy, and delicious. I made it while watching “Downtown Abbey” (I’m on episode 3 of Season 1 – completely addicted). Make it only if you have a lot of mouths to feed or if you’re down to eat 10 cups of puppy chow (which more power to you – let’s stop feeling shame for enjoying delicious foods, yes?)

Like I said, this recipe is easy peasy and shouldn’t take too long unless you’re like me taking photographs every step of the way while rewinding “Downtown Abbey” because you need to figure out every story line and hear all of Mary’s bitchy lines. You make the recipe in two batches and then mix them together.

This cereal is boring… let’s make it interesting… (actually this cereal was pretty delicious – I ate quite a bit of this too)

Oreo and powdered sugar mixture. Mix this before melting the chocolate or you’ll be in a mad rush like I was.

the beautiful “cream” puppy chow – I’m not a huge fan of white chocolate, so I prefer…

the “cookies” puppy chow! Once you mix these two together, you have the final product:

“Oreo Cookies and Cream Puppy Chow”

Adapted from: http://www.yourcupofcake.com/2013/01/cookies-and-cream-puppy-chow.html

Makes: 10 cups

Ingredients for “Cream” Puppy Chow

  • 5 cups rice chex cereal 
  • 1  1/4 cups white chocolate chips
  • 10 Oreos finely crushed
  • 2/3 cups powdered sugar

Ingredients for “Cookie” Puppy Chow

  • 5 cups rice chex cereal
  • 1  1/4 cups chocolate chips
  • 10 Oreos finely crushed
  • 2/3 cups powdered sugar

Directions

  1. For the “Cream” Puppy chow: Measure out rice chex cereal and put it in a large bowl.
  2. Mix together the powdered sugar and crushed oreos and put in a separate large bowl.
  3. Melt white chocolate in your preferred method. I microwave mine in a bowl in 30 second intervals and stir until smooth.
  4. Pour melted chocolate over cereal until covered.
  5. Pour sugar/cookie mixture over chocolatey cereal and stir until fully coated. I did this little by little to try to get even coating.
  6. Repeat steps 1-5 for the “cookies” puppy chow ingredients.
  7. Let cool for a bit, then mix the “cookies” and “cream” puppy chow together.
  8. Fold in extra chopped oreos if you desire.
  9. Sit on couch and marvel at your genius. Enjoy every bite with little guilt, promising to yourself that you’ll eat a vegetable some day.

With that, I’m off for the night. I’ve got a bed calling my name and a day full of class, GIS, meetings, work, and editing tomorrow. Oh the life of a student… I’m tired. Good thing I have this to look forward to:

5 thoughts on “Oreo Cookies and Cream Puppy Chow

  1. What happened to that girl that was eating healthy? Where did she go?
    My goal for March is to eat at least five servings of fruits and veggies each day. I think you should jump on that bandwagon with me. ;>D

Tell me what's on your mind!

