Cheddar and Chive Beer Bread

Is there anything better than cheese and bread? No. There is not. Besides, perhaps, chocolate.

Is there anything better than cheese and bread? No. There is not. Besides, perhaps, chocolate.

I’m awake early. Earlier than I’m usually awake on the weekends. I adore sleep. I wish I could be one of those people who thinks “you can sleep when you’re dead!” and fight to stay awake each moment. But… I’m not. I love snuggling up in my blanket and reading a good book until I pass out. I actually just finished my “for fun” book (which I only allow myself to read before bed) and I wasn’t too impressed. May write a post about it once I collect my thoughts, or you may have to live in suspense forever.

Anyway. Bread. Yes, we were talking about bread, weren’t we? Whenever people ask me, “if you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would you pick?” I usually answer bread. or cheese. or créme brûlée. Bread is perfect in its simplest form (no.. not white sliced bread from the grocery store) or more complex. My ma made this while I was home over break and I probably ate half of the loaf. The recipe is incredibly easy (for some reason, having to let bread rise intimidates me) and doesn’t require any special supplies. If you’re a new bread maker and are slightly intimidated (like me) you should give it a try. 

“Cheddar and Chive Beer Bread”

Adapted from: the recipe my Momma gave me!

Makes: 1 4×8 loaf of bread

Ingredients:

  • 2 3/4 cups flour
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 (12 oz) bottle beer (all I had was Leinenkugel – so I used that)
  • 1 cup grated cheddar cheese (or… whatever you have!)
  • 1/4 cup chopped chives
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F. You got this.
  2. Whisk together first 4 ingredients.
  3. Pour in the beer (only take one or two swigs) and mix.
  4. Fold in 3/4 cup cheese and chives.
  5. Pour that delicious mixture into a 4×8 buttered pan.
  6. Pour melted butter over dough. Realize this isn’t good for your body. Accept that and move on. Promise you’ll eat a vegetable sometime next week.
  7. Bake about 30 minutes and then sprinkle 1/4 cup cheese on top. Bake 15 to 20 minutes more until cheese is melted and looking damn fine.

And that’s it! There is your beautiful bread that people would pay $7 for at a farmer’s market! Gorgeous and easy and will impress everyone (at least my roommate and boyfriend were impressed!)

get in my mouth. now.

The rest of my day is going to be spent doing readings and volunteering at my department’s symposium. I’m not speaking at it, but I have a couple friends who are and I’m excited to hear about their work. I went last night for the guest speaker’s talk and the reception after. She’s a linguistical anthropologist, which isn’t always my top interest, but her talk about language usage in a small town was fascinating! The reception after was tons of fun too and allowed me to catch up with two friends, Sarah and Satoko, who I haven’t seen for awhile. I forgot how much those girls could make me laugh. Going to a masquerade party tonight – I’ve got to throw an outfit together, quick! If anyone has any cute, cheap ideas, throw them my way! I have a masquerade mask from Venice, but I think that’s a bit too nice for a party where the alcohol will be flowing quite freely…

Besides that, I’m looking forward to the upcoming weekend because I’m visiting friends and the boyfriend. I get to see one of my closest friends, Mech:

How do you get this beautiful? Practice, my dear friends, and lots of makeup.

How do you get this beautiful? Practice, my dear friends, and lots of makeup.

We met on a dig two years ago and have stayed close. She’s bizarre and lovely. It’ll be a busy and happy weekend because I get to see three of my favorite people: Paul, Mech, and Ky. Life is lovely.

Some of my favorite people

Some of my favorite people

Hope you are all doing something fun this weekend and have something to look forward to in the upcoming weeks! Let me know if you give this bread recipe a try, if you have other beginner bread recipes, or if you have a disastrous bread making story. I’m all about funny disaster stories 🙂 Perhaps because I have too many…

Tell me what's on your mind!

