Chocolate Protein Bars

Image

it was difficult to patiently take this photo before I got to eat

When I started school, one other girl, Kelsey, was let into the program with the same advisor as me. Although we’re interested in slightly different things, she also started to work in the same archaeology lab as me, so we talk often. One of the awesome things about her is that she’s really into homemade foods and crafts, plus she eats pretty damn healthy. Although I started getting into more nutritious foods last year, as well as working out more, school had started to make wellness eating the last thing on my mind. But Kelsey has really inspired me to focus more on healthy eating and when I saw this recipe on pinterest, I decided to give it a try.

A few months ago, I started tracking my food for a couple weeks, out of curiosity about what nutrients I was getting. Across the board, almost every day, I was severely lacking in protein. Upon the advice of some friends and online blogs, I started taking chocolate whey protein, usually just mixing it with almond milk. However… I didn’t really like the taste. This is the perfect way to mask the non-delicious whey protein taste and eat something sweet (since my body demands sweetness after almost every meal I devour).

“Chocolate Protein Bars”

Adapted from: http://windmillers.blogspot.com/2012/05/homemade-protein-bars.html

Makes: 12 bars

Dry Ingredients:

  • 2 cups instant oats
  • 1 cup chocolate whey protein powder
  • 1/2 cup nuts (I used slivered almonds)
  • 1/2 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup of dried fruit is optional – I didn’t have any, so I left them out

Wet Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup water (or almond milk)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Directions:

  1. Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl
  2. Mix the wet ingredients together in a separate microwaveable bowl
  3. Microwave the wet ingredients for 30 seconds, stirring after until creamy. You may need to microwave in 30 second intervals a couple of times until creamy.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix all together. You can throw in some extra nuts, chocolate chips, or dried fruit if you want. I don’t think it’s necessary, since it’s delicious all by itself!
  5. Line a cookie sheet with wax paper and plop the mixture on to it. It will be super sticky, so place another large sheet of wax paper on top and use that to smooth out the delicious mixture in a flat, square-ish shape.
  6. Refrigerate for 30 minutes or longer. I made mine last night and took them out this morning, worked perfect.
  7. Peel the top sheet of wax paper off and use a pizza cutter to cut individual bars. Mine made 12, but you could make more or less depending on the size you cut, of course!
  8. Enjoy! I wrapped mine in individual parchment paper and I’m keeping them in the fridge. If you use almond milk instead of water, definitely keep them refrigerated. These are honestly incredibly delicious and easy. I will absolutely be making them again.
my pretty individually wrapped bars

my pretty individually wrapped bars

Besides that, I’m spending the rest of my Sunday being productive/lazy. I finished my readings for archaeology and an assignment. Worked on my funding application earlier, as well as a GIS outline. Productivity feels good! Hope you are all having a wonderful Sunday too. I’m currently sitting on the couch becoming too emotional over The Hunger Games movie and enjoying coffee out of my favorite mug. Until next time!

such a dorky mug, but I absolutely love it - from my vacation last Spring break

such a dorky mug, but I absolutely love it – from my vacation last Spring break

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Protein Bars

  1. Love the photo of the stacked bars and your love of the dorky mug makes me happy. It means the good times outweighed the seasickness.

  2. Thanks for letting me sample this. I was not disappointed. I’d try your recipe myself, except I’m afraid I’d screw something up and instead of chocolate protein bars, I’d end up with, like, beef bourguignon.

Tell me what's on your mind!

