The Fault in Our Stars

Image

reading before bed – one of my NYE resolutions

Do you know what I often need? Some perspective. Unsurprisingly, grad school is stressful. At times, extremely, extremely stressful. While the problems I have (paper deadlines, conference abstracts, loans, etc.) are troubling, in the grand scheme of life, they really don’t mean too terribly much. Health, family, relationships, positive attitude, goals – those are things that matter.

Where is this reality check coming from? I, like many teens and adults, have gotten sucked into the John Green obsession. I was recommended this book by a friend, Lisa. Lisa and I were just sort of acquantinces in college and it wasn’t until she moved to France that we started talking more. Odd, a bit. Every so often we email each other suggestions of books and music. So from her recommendation, I picked up “The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green from my local library without having a clue what it was about.

When I got the book and read the back cover, I was a little disappointed. This is a book about kids with cancer? Lisa… what the hell kinda’ suggestion is this? This isn’t a book I would ever pick out for myself. I search for happy books or ones set in different cultures, usually easy reads. This book surprised me in how much I adored it. John Green’s humor is perfection; I laughed out loud numerous times. He seems like a friend.

Overall, this was a book I couldn’t put down. One I gave up precious, precious sleep to stay up late reading. When it comes down to it, it’s a love story, a life story and, since it is a book about cancer, a bit of a tragedy. It honestly makes me despondent, just thinking about certain parts now. Although occasionally upsetting, this book resulted in a lot of positive things. It introduced me to a new author, John Green. It made me step down from a type of literary high-horse, reminding me there’s no shame in reading young adult fiction, and hey – if we want to understand parts of (certain) youth culture better, maybe this is a good way to do it. And last, but certainly not least, it gave me some perspective about the “troubles” of my life. Things are pretty great for me and I’ll be better if I keep that in mind.

Who knew I could like a book about cancer so much?

Image

one of my favorite lines from the book

Has anyone else read this book or others by John Green? I’m looking forward to reading another novel by him. On to the next book… only reading fun books ten minutes before I pass out in bed means I sadly go painfully slow through literature. Nonetheless, a little is better than nothing! Hope everyone is staying warm and toasty… I’m currently drinking coffee in front of our heater, taking a break from reading about the Late Archaic culture. Life is dandy.

8 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars

    • That’s so funny you say that! It wasn’t until I read your comment that I recalled I read “Looking for Alaska” years ago. I honestly don’t remember it much, but you saying that really makes me want to find my old copy and give it another read. Have you read anything else by him?

  1. I’d like to borrow your book sometime.  As someone who had cancer, it would be nice to read something with a little humor…and yes I know there is tragedy – but then again it is a book about cancer and life..

    • Sadly, it’s not my book – I borrowed it from the library. You should definitely check out the book – it’s wildly popular, so I’m sure most libraries have at least one copy. It’s about teenagers with terminal cancer, so of course depressing, but a happy story too. At least that was my take, I’d be curious to hear yours!

  2. Les-I always love reading your posts. I will have to check this one out. Have you heard about Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher? It a teen book/young adult book about 13 reasons why this girl committed suicide. It is not my usual, happy go lucky read, but it was good.

    Lots of love, Jo

    • How are you so sweet? Will I see the evil side in Italy (side note – ahhhh! we are going to Italy!!!) That’s ironic that you bring up Thirteen Reasons Why – did you know Ally was also reading that book? She said she really enjoyed it. I had forgotten about it, but now I’m going to see if the library here has it! If you ever come visit you should see the library; it’s gorgeous and I love it 🙂

Tell me what's on your mind!

