Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

Ahh… tomorrow is Labor Day. The day I’m supposed to have no work or responsibility and relax (aka catch up on my ridiculous amounts of readings). Right?

Wrong.

Unfortunately, I have to work all day tomorrow (10-5, not too bad). Good thing? I love my job and the people I work with are incredibly friendly and all around fun to talk to. Better news? I’m bringing in food to brighten everyone’s day.

I always buy bananas in the hopes that I will eat them and be healthy. Fruit = instant healthy in my book. However, bananas go bad so dang quick, so I find myself making sugary banana bread every month. Kinda’ the opposite of healthy, but still fruit!

Today I decided to try out a recipe that I’ve made before, but never tasted. I’m dating someone in the military and he’s just finishing up a deployment, so I spent much of the last year trying out new baking recipes, saran-wrapping the crap out of them, and shipping them off to Afghanistan. I always appreciated hearing my boyfriend (and all his friends) tell me how much they loved the food I sent. Anyway, I decided it was time for me to try what I was sending off.

Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

Adapted from: http://www.lovintheoven.com/2010/03/cinnamon-swirl-banana-bread.html

What you’ll need:

For bread:

  • 3 over-ripe bananas, all smushed up
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups flour

For swirl:

  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F. Butter or spray a 9 x 5 loaf pan.
  2. Mix bananas, butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla.
  3. Sprinkle baking soda and salt over banana mixture. Stir in.
  4. Gently stir in flour. Make sure not to over-mix.
  5. In a small dish, mix together the ingredients for the swirl (sugar and cinnamon).
  6. Add 1/2 of the banana batter to the loaf pan and then sprinkle 3/4 of the sugar mixture on top. Add the rest of the batter, and sprinkle the remaining sugar on top. The top sugar is what will form the hard, flaky crust. So, if you want more of that, use less of the sugar in the middle and reserve it for the top.
  7. Bake bread for 50-60 minutes. Use a knife to check that it’s baked all the way through. Let cool a little before cutting up. Serve warm and eat as much as possible!

Check out the awesome crust on this bread

Hopefully the people at work like it. If not, I have no problem eating the whole loaf myself! Happy Labor Day!

Tell me what's on your mind!

