The Obsession with my Terrarium

Oh my terrarium, how I love you so. Seriously though, I am a bit obsessed with this terrarium. How could I not be? They’re absolutely gorgeous! For a long time, I had never heard of a terrarium (now I say the word out loud to myself as I type it because it’s such a fun word to say). I went on an archaeology dig last summer and met (one of my now close friends) Mēch. The first thing she said to me was “do you know if there’s any moss around here?”

I, of course, thought she was strange and made a mental note to avoid her. But she later informed me that she makes terrariums for family members and friends. Ever since then, I’ve been intrigued by the idea and once I saw a beautiful pin on pinterest (my obsession) I knew I had to try it out. So I present, THEE TERRARIUM 

(that was your cue to gasp and/or excitingly clap)

The Cutest Darn Terrarium You’ll Ever See

Adapted from: http://www.kokokokids.ru/2011/09/moss-terrarium.html

What you’ll need:

  • A glass container (the more interesting – the better!)
  • Pebbles
  • Charcoal (I skipped this part, but everything I’ve read says it’s better to use!)
  • Soil
  • Moss, of course!
  • Any decorations you want

Directions:

  1. Clean out the glass jar. If you’re like me, you’ll be scrounging in your parent’s basement for a funky or beautiful glass jar and what you find will be covered in a layer of dust and/or a spider family has moved in and set up camp. Set the spiders free and get that windex out!
  2. Lay some pebbles along the bottom and (if you have it) cover with charcoal. From what I’ve read, the charcoal is supposed to help keep your terrarium from molding. However… I didn’t have any charcoal. And I don’t have any mold (yet) and it’s been around 3 weeks, so don’t let no charcoal deter you! However, better safe than sorry if you’ve got some handy.
  3. Completely cover charcoal with a layer of soil (I used standard potting soil from a bag).
  4. Arrange your moss! I had 4 or 5 different pieces of moss that I collected for color and texture variations. One piece had these lovely curly brown grasses coming out of it. Oh moss… how I love thee.
  5. Decorate with any last tidbits and you’re done! I adorned mine with a pinecone (that my ma meticulously picked out) and a couple cutie acorns. The blog I linked to used little houses which were adorable. Feel free to use pebbles, coins, pieces of salt water taffy – whatever you think looks good!
  6. Put out for people to ‘ooo’ and ‘ahhh’ over because these terrariums are gorgeous. Don’t forget to water them every once in awhile (I do mine twice a week or so). You can either water normally, or use a sprayer (which in my opinion works best).

4 thoughts on “The Obsession with my Terrarium

  1. Les- I await with baited breath (had garlic today) for your next blog. Dirt and Desserts-what a combo, but exactly right. I was oohing and aahhing over the scrumptious desserts pictured. My mouth was watering and my stomach was growling. Where is my bread sent through the mail???? Look forward to more blogs posted by you. Love Always, your cuz Jo

    • Ooo garlic is my favorite. That’s one good thing about Kyle being gone. I can eat as much garlic as I want. If I go on a baking frenzy, I’ll make you some bread! I really really really miss sending care packages =) Or you could always visit and then I’ll make some…

    • Unfortunately it died because the cats knocked it over… damn cats. Plus it was looking a little icky – so next time I’m going to use charcoal to hopefully avoid it. And yes! I did water it once in a while. It was fun to make and I loved rearranging it, so I’ll definitely be making another one once the weather warms up 🙂

Tell me what's on your mind!

